Joint Planning Board

The River Vale Joint Planning Board fulfills the responsibilities of both a planning board and a zoning board of adjustment.  It consists of volunteers appointed by the Mayor who are responsible for reviewing variance applications on a case-by-case basis in accordance with the Township's Master Plan, Zoning Ordinances and New Jersey Municipal Land Use Law (MLUL). The burden of proof is placed on the applicant to demonstrate that the requested relief is justified. Owners of property situated within 200 feet of any proposed major subdivision, application for site plan approval or variance application will receive notice of a public hearing.  All are welcome to attend the public meetings of the board and are invited to ask questions regarding any application which may appear on the agenda.

The next meeting will be held on May 26, 2021 at 7:30 pm at the River Vale Community Center at 628 Rivervale Road.  Masks are required.  All are welcome to attend.


  • Start time is 7:30 p.m. 
  • Once Monthly
  • In light of the social distancing guidelines for COVID-19, all remaining 2021 meetings of the Joint Planning Board will be held at the River Vale Community Center at 628 Rivervale Road.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

2021 Regular Meeting Dates

adopted January 27, 2021
(Wednesdays unless otherwise noted)
  • January 27, 2021 - online
  • February 24, 2021 - online
  • March 24, 2021 - online
  • April 28, 2021 
  • May 26, 2021 
  • June 23, 2021 

  • July 28, 2021
  • August 25, 2021
  • September 22, 2021
  • October 27, 2021
  • November 17, 2021
  • December 15, 2021

    2022 Reorganization: 
    January 26, 2022

2021 Members

Adamo, Robert    Class IV  
Donovan, John Class III Council Representative
Fortsch, Robert Class IV Vice Chairman
Jasionowski, Glen Class I Mayor
Lippert, Scott Class IV Chairman
Lowe, Gregory Class IV
Puccio, John Class IV
Ross, Matthew Alternate #1
Vaccaro, Susan Class IV Secretary
Wayne, Peter   Class II

Secondary Members

  • Marc Leibman, Attorney
  • Christopher Statile, Engineer
  • Maria Haag, Recording Secretary


If you have any questions, please email Maria Haag, Land Use Administrator/ Recording Secretary, or call 201-664-2346, ext. 1065.

Please click here for an Application to Appear Before the Joint Planning Board (PDF).